Musée Baud

A few kilometres from Sainte-Croix, the music box capital, the village of L’Auberson is a delightful secret. It was here, in the Yverdon region, that the Baud brothers established their collection of automatons. A mechanical wonderland offering guided tours during weekends and every day in the summer.

The Musée Baud in L’Auberson was opened in 1955 by the Baud brothers, Frédy, Robert and Auguste, and has a collection of around sixty antique mechanical music exhibits, dating from 1750 to 1940, including music boxes, automatons and orchestrions.

The Baud brothers continue to work together in their precision mechanical workshop repairing large mechanical music devices. Passionately interested in any mechanical music device, including all kinds of automatons, they created a display of their collection in their stables and barn which were converted into a museum. Expertise and a musical ear are essential to identify the missing notes on a mechanical roller and their talent for mechanical devices is known far and wide. Even today people come from all over the world with rare pieces for them to repair.

Practical Information

AdressGrand Rue 23 - 1454 L'Auberson
Phone+41 (0)24 454 24 84
Emailmusee-baud@bluewin.ch
Websitehttp://www.museebaud.ch

Share your best moments on the Grand Tour of Switzerland

#myvaudtrip

Musée Baud

Situé à quelques kilomètres de Sainte-Croix, capitale de la boîte à musique, le village de L’Auberson recèle des trésors. C’est là, dans la Région d’Yverdon, que les frères Baud ont installé leur collection d’automates. Une féérie mécanique à visiter avec un guide le week-end ou tous les jours d’été.

Le Musée Baud de l’Auberson voit le jour en 1955 à l’initiative des frères Frédy, Robert et Auguste Baud. Il présente une collection d’une soixantaine de pièces de musique mécanique ancienne, datant de 1750 à 1940 : boîtes à musique, automates ou orchestrions.

Les frères Baud travaillent simultanément dans leur atelier de mécanique de précision où ils réparent de grandes pièces de musique mécanique. Passionnés, ils s’intéressent à tout objet comportant de la musique mécanique, y compris les automates les plus variés, si bien qu’ils aménagent leur collection dans leur écurie et leur grange transformées en musée. Savoir-faire et oreille musicale sont nécessaires pour identifier les notes disparues sur un rouleau mécanique. Leur talent pour la mécanique est connu loin à la ronde, et aujourd’hui encore on vient du monde entier pour leur confier des pièces rares à réparer.

Informations pratiques

AdresseGrand Rue 23 - 1454 L'Auberson
Téléphone+41 (0)24 454 24 84
E-Mailmusee-baud@bluewin.ch
Site webhttp://www.museebaud.ch

Partagez vos expériences vécues sur le Grand Tour de Suisse

#myvaudtrip