The trail starts in Rougemont at the foot of the imposing peak of the Gummfluh. The village has several architectural gems, such as the old timber houses with their richly decorated façades or the priory church, a prominent testimony to the religious heritage of the region.
From Rougemont, the trail follows the course of the River Saane, past the hamlets of Combes and Gérignoz and leads over a track to the waterfall of Ramaclé. After this water meadow zone, Château-d'Œx can be reached by crossing the Turrian bridge, one of the few suspension bridges in West Switzerland. In the middle of the village one can climb up to the Colline du Temple, the Kirchenhügel (Church hill) and enjoy a rewarding view of the old village centre. The trail turns towards La Chaudanne, where the Saane is crossed over the bridge of Grangettes.
It continues through meadows to Rossinière. The place is renowned for its outstanding timber architecture, particularly the Chalet de la Place and the famous Grand Chalet, where Balthus spent his final years. In the middle of the village is the Balthus chapel, which commemorates the artist.
Just a stroll away from Château-d’Oex, you can discover the Turrian Bridge, the oldest suspension bridge in Romandy Switzerland.
Place du Village 6 - 1660 Château-d'Oex
+41 26 924 25 25
Send an email